File 3 - Biographical Register, 1921-1940

Identity area

Reference code



Biographical Register, 1921-1940


  • January 1921-October 1940 (The dates given here are those of the information covered. The volume was compiled in the early 20C.) (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

1 volume 8+ x 13 x 2+ in; cloth-bound with battered leather spine and corners paper

Context area

Name of creator

(1893 - 1969)

Biographical history

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Contains lists arranged by date of admission and then alphabetically within each date. Thus entries for people who arrived at different times of year appear outside the main lists of those who matriculated in October. At the end of the volume (pp. 370-463), are obituary newscuttings and other papers relating to a selection of old members: Sir Morris Sugden; Sir Victor Goddard; Lt-Col. F. J. T. Mew; O.F. Tucker; E.P.H. Drake; Brig. Joe Parker; Mr Henry Barnes (Fellow); Sir William Walker; Major T. Anstey; Henry Snell; Geoffrey Gorer; Brian Melland; Angus Ward; Sir Jack Longland; Lord (Humphrey) Trevelyan; Lord (J. J. Saville) Garner; Bernard Mills; Aubrey Morgan; Edward Schur; P. N. Carpmael; the Rev. Dr Eric Abbott; the Ven. Sidney Harvey-Clark; Geoffrey Salmon; Col. Robert Greenhalgh; Allan B. Swan; Canon Joseph Poole; Dr Morvyn Williams; George F. Raper; Dr Roland D. Holloway; John C. Bane; F.M. G. Stammers; Brig. H. E. C. de Chassiron; Dr Mason Welch Gross; Derek Parker Bowles; Judge Alan Stewart Trapnell; the Rev. Canon J. N. Duckworth; Martin B. Hewitt; Sir David Trench; Terence R. Tiller; William M. Cowley; Bernard van Cutsem; the Rev. Dr Marcus Ward; Victor F. Stiebel; David Campbell (poet); Prof. A. H. Armstrong; H. E. Maude; W.B.B. (Basil)Rees; Edward G. Robey; David E. Fairbairn; Dr Charles Gilbert; Thomas Langton; Esmond Drury; Canon Mark Ruston; Sir Geoffrey Peacock; Alasdair Tainsh; Edward de Sautoy; the Rt Rev. John A. T. Robinson; Basil C. Aldis; Robert N. Jackson; Sir Philip Oppenheimer; General Sir John Sharp; Sir Geoffrey Gilbertson; Terence O. Kelly; Ronald Howard; Sir John Newson-Smith; David Craig; Wing Cdr Innes Westmacott; the Rev. Chandos Morgan; Ray Bevan; Dr Peter D. Mitchell; A. U. Payne; Alan Wyndham Green; Dr Kenneth Lumsden; Sir Norman Costar; J. H. C. Phillips; Owen S. Masefield; Douglas Lamb; Bryan Bevan; the Rev. William Howard Melish; Sir James Cobban; the Rt Rev. Cyril Bowles; Sir Clifford Cornford; Timothy Renold; Ian Robert Menzies; F. P. Wiltshire; Alistair Cooke; Dr Jacob Bronowski; Canon Noel Boston; Greville Poke; Leonard Hancock; Alistair Crombie; Lord (Robert) Lowry; Dennis Curry; Anthony Hordern; F. S. Hasland; Sam Benady; Richard B. Beare; George C. Thew; D. G. James; Major A. L. Symonds; Maurice Sinkin; Claude Pike; J. Noel Duckworth; the Very Rev. Ivan Neill; Canon Francis Longworth-Dames; Alan Burrough; Sir Edgar Beck; Major Stephen Mitchell; Lt-Col. Rex Hamer; Ellis Birk; Tom Lewis; Derek Taunt; Tom Manning.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

former reference


Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places